OBJECT OF STUDY PROPOSAL

I decided to change my OoS from the PSN that I started from originally as soon as we started looking at applying the theories to the OoS. The lack of access to specific details of the PSN made it difficult. I can see more now where I could have went with that (focusing more on interface issues, for instance), however I am glad I changed my OoS. While being able to focus on multiple aspects of the game has been useful, I think I could have just as easily focused entirely on the interface in WoW.

World of Warcraft —> Specific focus on the interface
World of Warcraft is a fantasy Massive Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game created by Blizzard Entertainment. World of Warcraft launched in 2004. The game is still currently updated and has since released five expansions. The game is set in the Warcraft universe that was introduced in Warcraft I, II, and III. One of WoW’s unique features is the ability for players to customize the interface through an “addon” feature. Blizzard even encourages these modifications by providing starter information for people interested in coding these addons.  While Blizzard promotes the creation and distribution of addons, the Terms of Service clearly state that addons cannot be sold for in or out of game currency. The ability to modify is interesting because it means that players likely have vastly different experiences playing the game and make specific adjustments for their play style.

IMPORTANCE TO ENGLISH STUDIES
I think studying the interface of World of Warcraft would be useful for an English Studies project in the sub discipline of Game Studies because World of Warcraft continues to be one of the major massive multiplayer online games on the market, with millions of subscribers.  I think it would be useful to see how the definition of “network” holds up against the theories we’ll be working with in the class, and the ways that perhaps the World of Warcraft and it’s interface is and is not a network.
WHY IS IT IMPORTANT THAT PSN SHOULD BE THOUGHT OF AS A NETWORK?
I think since the game is multiplayer, as well as operates within a larger Battlenet platform (that basically acts a social network), there are various layers of interface and those interfaces are networked in a way that I haven’t really seen discussed in game studies literature that I’ve read.

